{.:.belated Valentine’s Day.:.}

by aproperfool

OH, Valentine’s Day. The one day a year that all everyone dreads–single and taken people alike. You’re either stuck clinging to your single friends, trying to ignore all of the pink and fluffy, or you’re stressing about what to get your loved one.

I’ll start with telling my favorite memory of Valentine’s Day. In the seventh grade, just after I got my much-needed braces, I was approached by a cute boy in my class who liked what kind of candy I liked. I blushed; I was shocked that he was going to get me anything! I barely slept that night, the excitement was overwhelming!

I woke up super early the next morning to do my hair and makeup (normally, I did not wear it). Looking back, my hair was awful. Just for the record. Anyway, I went to school, and playfully ignored the boy, thinking that he would find me when he was ready to give me his gift!

I realized after first period that all of the other girls in the class, minus myself and one other girl, had already gotten their gifts from him…he didn’t get us anything. He only got the other girls in the class something. I always thought they were so pretty, so it was no wonder that I wasn’t the recipient of a teddy bear holding a tin of candy on a heart pillow–the boy did apologize to us, and said that he would have something for us on Monday, he just ran out of money. I was mildly crushed, but waited faithfully for my gift on Monday.

And on Monday, I got a thirty-five cent pack of sweet tarts (he left the price tag on it…accidental?). While that was depressing at the time, looking back, I’m glad it happened that way. I no longer place stock in Valentine’s Day; I don’t want a tin of chocolates and a bouquet of roses (though those are lovely), I’m happy with a gift that the giver thinks describes me. Case in point: I got hot wings yesterday. D’awwww, how sweet.

Oh yeah, my friend, Jennifer, did a Valentine’s shoot for me a couple of weeks ago! Check them out here!

This is what I got for Lucas.

