{.:.Tuesday Reads:.:Ginger Couturier.:.}

by aproperfool

Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia.

In one word, hilarious. Ginger is so honest with her readers, that you instantly love her, and then envy her five seconds later when you scroll down her page to see her perfect photos that are full of life and happiness. I was referred to her blog through Freshly Pressed, and am so glad that her title was catchy, otherwise I might have missed out! She started her blog with the new year, and has a list of 365 Resolutions that are funny/serious/thought-provoking. I especially love that she is dedicated enough to post her entire list to her blog, and cross them out as she goes. It makes me want to be a copy cat next year and start being more detailed with my resolutions!

These photos are from the post that made me start following her blogging journey–

(the last picture is a screen shot of my favorite moment in the post, in which she admits defeat; but don’t fret, if you keep reading, you’ll find out that she makes the cake and it turns out perfect).

How long have you been blogging?

I have been blogging off and on for over 5 years. Honestly, I have never really stuck with a blog for long and after a few months of writing I’d drop the blog I was working on and then start fresh some time later. I have committed (yikes, big scary word) myself to Ginger Couturier: Trapped in Suburbia in December of 2010.

Were you a bit overwhelmed when you first began blogging? 

Nope. Not at all, I love to write and I love to talk so blogging comes natural to me. Sometimes, I would feel intimidated because there are so many top-notch writers out there that I know I am not even close to being on the same level with. And sometimes I am reluctant to share my thoughts with people because I’m not very conventional. Being so open makes me feel vulnerable at times but I’ve been told that because I’m so “real life” I make for an interesting writer. Recently, I’ve taken the view that if people don’t like what I have to say then they just won’t read, it’s not like they are going to attack me for it. This mentality has helped me relax and just do what I love to do and that is writing about my struggles in an otherwise fairly boring life.

Do you blog full-time? 

I wish! I would love to be able to spend more time working on my blog but I have bills to pay and Executives to assist during normal business hours. Some of my posts take shape over a few days, because even after office hours there are so many demands at home. Someday, maybe, (oh… I wish so bad) I will be able to make this a full-time thing.
What type of camera do you use for your photos, and do you spend a lot of time editing in Photoshop or similar software? 

Oh, my camera. Ilooooove my camera. I use a Canon Rebel xs SLR and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a fancy camera but doesn’t know where to start. The only editing I do to my photos is adding fun fonts or frames and for that I use picnik.com, it’s free and very easy to use. I do, however, take a hundred shots of the same object just to be sure I get at least one good picture :)

What inspired you to take on such a large list for your 2011 Resolutions? 

Well, at the end of 2009, I was going through a very rough time in my life, low self-esteem and bored out of my mind, so I started the list of 365. I figured if I only had one resolution I would fail after a few weeks and wouldn’t help my frame of mind. The list would be a way to get things done that I was always putting off until later and ultimately I hoped it would make me realize all that I can accomplish and turn my opinion of myself into something a bit more positive. I didn’t blog about the 2010 list like I had set out to do, but at the end of the year I looked at my list and saw that I did get so many things done, just because I had them in the back of my mind. Looking back at the year and my list I couldn’t help the feeling of accomplishment, and as I hoped, it did help boost my self-esteem. I decided that I would make the list again but this time I would really dedicate to the blogging.

How many Resolutions have you completed? 

Wow, so far I have 76 things scratched off. I should probably be around 90 or so but I am not going to stress. If I actually do get everything done I think I might have a heart attack. I’d like to get everything done but if I don’t then it’s okay because I already I feel great about what’s been accomplished. Besides, I still have 8 months to go and tons of motivation to get them done. The only two things I’ve missed so far that I’m unlikely to get done were 1) make a snowman with the kids and 2) make a Valentine for Huz. You never know though, it might snow here in December (or maybe I’ll win a trip to Alaska he-he) and Huz didn’t really deserve a Valentine, so I don’t feel bad about that one at all.

How long did it take you to compile your Resolutions list?

About a week, maybe? It took a lot of editing and I am so glad that my kids helped me with that part because some items had a way of popping up more than once in the rough draft. For next year, I will be putting a little more common sense into the list because after I posted it I printed it and put a dollar amount on the items that would require cash and came up with a rough estimate of 8 grand. Is that all? I don’t have that kind of money so I have really been getting creative with how I’m getting most of those things done. Luckily, life has been helpful and has thrown me a few freebies that I might not have been paying attention to otherwise.

How long have you been baking? Do you think that you will ever make baking your profession? 

I’ve been baking since I could hold a mixer! When I was younger I would act as if I was hosting a cooking show I’d be standing at the kitchen counter talking to my imaginary audience as I followed along with the recipes. My family must have thought I was nuts. Once a dork always a dork, lol, but I believe that was a big part of what has made me such a wonderful baker. I LOVE baking I find it very therapeutic and it’s one of my main passions in life. I’ve toyed around with the idea of opening a bakery for quite a few years but getting up at 3 in the morning doesn’t sound like much fun to me. Also, I do not know how to work with yeast yet; the few times I’ve tried ended up being major fails and I’m not sure what good bakery doesn’t sell bread. I’ll succeed at it someday though, when the time is right, no worries.I do have an idea brewing in the back of my mind, but it’s just a wee little thought for right now. I’ve got so much on my plate at this time and we will just have to see what the future holds. 

Do you cook other dishes as well, or are you partial to baking? 

I sure do cook and I am pretty dang good at it too, if I do say so myself. Cooking for me, like baking, is trial and error. I’ve made some huge disasters and some out-of-this-world meals. I almost always use a recipe but sometimes I will whip something up on my own that turns out to be wonderful. I always use fresh ingredients and look for simple recipes. A million ingredients does not necessarily equal the best meal ever. I also hate to have to clean up a ton of dishes so I try to keep things as simple as possible. I will be posting a few recipes in the upcoming weeks, starting with one I made last night. I’d love to take a cooking class and when I was 19 almost enrolled in culinary school but at the time I was very squeamish about handling live lobsters, fish that still looked like fish, and raw meat. I’ve gotten over that though and still have many years ahead of me so a professional class will most likely be in my future.

Ginger is incredibly sweet, and I her answers were very sincere–is anyone else enamored with the fact that she uses alternating font sizes?
Because I am. And this has been so much fun!


