After a lovely weekend, back to reality / Recap.

by aproperfool

Here’s a recap of my weekend:

Friday night, I attended the Layman Group‘s annual Carnivale Gala and Masquerarde Ball. It was so fun! Hilary [happy 23rd birthday!], Megan, and I got dressed up, made our own masks, and danced the evening away. I didn’t get many pictures, but these are what I have (all but the first photo are from The Layman Group’s Facebook page; the face I’m making in shot of all three of us is rather unfortunate)–

The highlight of the evening was Adventure the Great, one of my favorite local bands playing.

On Saturday, I spent the entire day in Atlanta with Sarah and Adam, as we attended the Southeastern Regional Barista competition. It was intense. None of us competed, but it was great to be surrounded by people who were so passionate about coffee! After the competition, we did our own personal ATL coffee tour. Here are the shops we visited:

First stop: Octane; one of their employees won the brewer’s cup at the competition!

What I got: organic, local yogurt with in-house baked granola & iced latte

Rating: 4 out of 5; it was an iced latte, so many people think you can’t really mess that up. However, there’s a lot of distinction in iced lattes. The shot was timed perfectly and their organic milk brought out the flavor.

Second stop: Condesa Coffee

What I got: 12 oz latte

Rating: 5 out of 5; Adam had straight espresso, Sarah got a macchiato, and I got a latte. Then they sent us a free chai so that we could get even more variety. This was one of the best lattes I’ve ever had. They used a light roast espresso, which gave the espresso a tangier taste than that of many shops.

Third stop: Java Vino

What I got: macchiato & honey/lemon mini tart

Rating: 2 out of 5; They had a great wine selection and the soup that Sarah ordered was very good. However, as far as coffee goes, it wasn’t great. The macchiato was about six ounces and the shot was “dead” before I got it. That was disappointing, but I would still visit for a cute date. They had plenty of options for beer and wine and appetizer-type food.

Stop 4: Steady Hand Pour House

What I got: macchiato & Chemex-poured coffee & siphoned coffee

Rating: 5 out of 5; their care for brewed coffee was so exciting! Many shops focus solely on the espresso, leaving the brewed coffee all alone. We got to the shop five minutes before close, explained our tour, and they were very nice and willing to walk us through the siphoning process, as well as make the other drinks.

Final stop: Little 5 Pizza

What I got: Lasagna

Rating: 8 out of 5. Yes, it’s that good. It might be driven by the fact that I had nothing but coffee all day and therefore was hyped up and starving. But let me say, exquisite.

After my busy, BUSY, BUSY weekend, I spent Sunday relaxing. A whole lot. With Downton Abbey. I’m completely hooked.

 

 

