So, where did A Proper Fool go?

by aproperfool

Well, the question might be more easily answered with, where didn’t A Proper Fool go?

Now, don’t get too excited. I wasn’t jet-setting around the globe or anything. But I did make some pretty noteworthy accomplishments as I rounded out 2012 and rang in 2013.

Here we go–

I accomplished everything  almost everything on my list of New Year’s resolutions last year; I ate a lot of really good food. I drank a lot of really good wine. I read a lot of books, magazines, news articles, and all of those things that keep an individual relatively informed. I played some video games I watched a shocking quantity of movies and tv shows. I made a lot of questionable decisions, that helped me grow in various ways (“What is Eryn even wearing?”). I listened to a lot of music. New music, old music, popular music. You name it, I danced listened to it.

And the two biggies: I got back in touch with myself. Yeah, it may sound really easy. It may seem like a silly goal or some kind of ambiguous term that people use when they “find” themselves. But really, I learned a lot about what I like and what I don’t and who I want to surround myself with. Because of that last one, there were a few ups and downs you know in the love dating department. Mostly ups, though.

And last, but certainly not least, I went to New York City for New Year’s Eve. We didn’t go to Times Square because my goal was to test out the area and see if I could stand to live there. I stayed with two new and great friends in Brooklyn and battled the subways with too much luggage and scoured the Brooklyn Flea Market like it was my job (oh hey, I met Alexa Chung) and toured the Chelsea Market and I gawked at things I couldn’t afford all over 5th Ave and ate my weight in international food (no joke, I gained 6 pounds in two weeks). I went to some local shows, I went to some cool parties…it was grand. And guess what? This just in: I love NYC.

Here are some snapshots of NYE (We went to a “secret” warehouse party in Brooklyn. It felt very Girls).

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

I have hundreds of photos to sort through from the events of the past year before a more realistic look at 2012 can be made, but I have to say, I think it was my best year yet.

Some major highlights: Nashville with Alyssa and Allison, ATL for Allison’s birthday, Damian Jurado & Sharon van Etten with Alyssa and Rose, a complete stranger gave me $500 (which funded my trip to the Big Apple), Bonnaroo (I literally have no idea what happened to those photos), working with Emily over the summer, touring J Crew/Madewell, a new apartment and a new roommate, my first visit to the 280 Boogie, Julia Nunes with Sara, Halloween 2012 and all that that entails, the mini pie date debacle, late nights with my sisters, the infamous prom party, learning to pronounce words correctly from Jose (because “latte” is actually pronounced “late”) listening to Shake It Out more than anyone should admit, late night car rides to nowhere, wine and chats with Nadene…there are so many things I am sure I have left out. But all in all, as I am ushering in my 23rd year of you know, living, I have to say: it’s been pretty great fantastic thus far.

This is where we queue leftover, reminiscent photos of 2012 for my next couple of posts.

Here’s to the upcoming year–I plan to live for a living.

