// Ninesday (edibles).

by aproperfool

9. To get you all in the mood for the Ninesday, food edition–

8. This week, I’ll be making my sandwiches in advance, so that I can sleep in that extra fifteen minutes every morning. This Green Goddess grilled cheese from Tastespotting will definitely hit the spot. Avocado + mozzarella + toast + pesto + OMG CAN’T WAIT.

7. I’m really excited to try this quinoa stir fry bowl. I found the recipe on The Almost Vegan’s blog. I’ll probably nix the yard fungus mushrooms and add snow peas.

IMG_4503-e1367792636438-1024x768

6. Those of you who know me know that I love quinoa. It’s one of my favorite go-to ingredients. Thanks to Eating Well Living Thin, I can even add it to my veggie burgers. And this time, I will chop the onions really small. Unlike that one time, which caused the burgers to smoosh into blobs of black bean goop. Some of you know what I’m talking about.

5. After downloading the A Beautiful Mess photo app, I mosey’d over to her blog to see what’s new with Elsie. And in doing so, I stumbled onto recipes for summer tarts. Talk about yummy! Also a bonus: I can reuse many of the groceries I already purchased this week.

6a00d8358081ff69e20176173ac385970c-800wi 6a00d8358081ff69e2016769462768970b-800wi

4. Turkish Carrots & Lentils with Herbs, thanks to the Splendid Table. I’m most excited about this recipe because a) I have lentils and no idea what to use them for and b) because it seems like something that will last a little while in the refrigerator. Which is always a bonus, when cooking for yourself.

3. With summer in full swing, I’ve been dying to make recipes with tomatoes. Heirloom tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, red tomatoes, green tomatoes, beefsteak tomatoes…you name it, I want to try it. And the Flourishing Foodie has made that possible. A tomato quiche, you say? I think I’ll make mine with gouda. Bon apetit!

IMG_2549-1

2. Well, while most of my cooking is done at home and most of my dining out is at places with paper menus, plastic forks, and coffee sleeves, I do really enjoy a nice restaurant here-and-there. I think I’ll splurge a little and try out this vegetarian restaurant that was featured on NPR a few months back–Dirt Candy. Because really, “anyone can cook a hamburger, [we should] leave the vegetables to the professionals.”

1. I have a confession: I’m a bit of a wino. Not in an addictive manner, but I really, really love wine. I think it adds that extra flavor profile to your dinner (and can cover up any kitchen accidents). And, of course, those wine glasses just make you feel fancy.

Next confession: I’m not necessarily a connoisseur, by any means. When trying out new ingredients or toting a bottle along for a dinner party, I have no idea what I should be bringing. My go-to? A red. Yep, that’s about as specific as I get. I much prefer red wine. I have stumbled upon this really excellent list of tips for wine & cheese pairing. And I’ll be putting them to use. So don’t everyone invite me over for your freshly baked tomato quiches made with fancy, fancy cheeses all at once.

