// that’s what friends are for.

by aproperfool

 

Untitled-2The only way to describe this past week was long. It started out with archiving shoes and other amazing pieces at Isaac Mizrahi, followed by a dead cell phone and taxi mishap on Tuesday (he dropped me off on the opposite side of town!), some marketing/social networking for Gabriela Moya, late dinner on Thursday, and finally, on Friday, a 10 hour day full of cutting threads, pinning samples, and stuffing a model into a pair of $700 boots for the Stacy Lomman F/W ’13 photo shoot (behind-the-scenes photos here).

By Friday night, I collapsed into bed, in a pile of fashion-overloaded bliss. Then, I got a package! But not just any package. A care package from Alyssa! I have never been so excited to get mail and so thankful for the friends I have. This thing was heavy. It was full of all of the things we used to cheer each other up when we lived together, from pretzel M&Ms to the ingredients for spaghetti, to a teeny box of wine, to some thrifting gold she found for me. A ton of miniature things: tiny deodorant, tiny notebooks, a tiny fan to deal with the sometimes un-airconditioned train, a teeny face wash, and some new lipstick. And to top it all off, she even included a teensy French press and coffee from Mama Mocha’s, for a little taste of home.

It should also be mentioned that on top of the excellent timing of the box, I received a card in the mail on the fateful Tuesday dinner debacle–and it made me laugh like a 12-year-old boy. Who knew you could even buy these?? Utter genius.

 

