// solo concert review.

by aproperfool

DSC_0009 DSC_0022 DSC_0023 DSC_0024 DSC_0036Concert attire // Sam Edelman Petty ankle booties // Calvin Klein leather backpack, thrifted // Madewell light wash denim // Crew neck mullet cutoff tee, thrifted // Necklace, thrifted (in Philly!) // Blazer, thrifted (little boy’s section)

So, it was a little scary. I walked into this massive arena, typically known for its basketball. And then I began walking. And walking. And walking a little bit more. Until I found it! Section 222, and from there, I went up. Up and up and up, all the way into the nosebleeds, in a mostly deserted area.

Initial reaction: What was I thinking buying a ticket to go to a concert alone?! How will I complain about how close we are to the ceiling? How will I turn and make a goofy/excited face when Postal Service finally comes on? Who is going to return to being a teenager with me? Yes, I was in this time warp alone.

But, once I got past all of the firsts–first time sitting in the wrong seat (on purpose, so that I had a slightly better view), paying too much for peanut M&Ms, sitting at an upbeat concert, it was really fun. The rest of the night was spent dancing. With myself. And ignoring the people sitting in the nearby section. I had the entire seating area to myself. And it was great. I even kept my balance without a comrade to hold me up (geez, that could have been terrible from that height–me, tumbling down and down and down…).

So I’ve done it. And I think I’d do it again.

The show really was better than expected. No matter how much I loved Postal Service previously, I wasn’t sold on the idea that a tour ten years later would be worthwhile. The lighting was great, the sound was great, and Ben Gibbard and Jenny Lewis were really enjoying playing for us. Which showed in their music. He even made a few comments about how humbling it was to still have so many fans after their single album. I’m not a concert reviewer by any means–check out this article in the NY Times. It’s way better.

Post show, I grabbed drinks with Grace and oddly enough, an old friend from Huntsville! Small world.

 

