// care package heaven.

by aproperfool

Amidst all of the hustle & bustle, the missed trains, the late-night taxis, and the rooftop laughs, I got TWO care packages this week! Can you believe that?! TWO.

Up first, the lovely Allison’s gift. She is a handmade/thrift/yard sale junkie, so her box was filled with one-of-a-kind finds. Four individual servings of oatmeal from a Nashville shop (because I have been complaining about running out of the door too quickly in the mornings), four mini oat snacks (perfect for my trip tomorrow), an adorable tote she wove and printed herself, a little pouch (also woven herself!) that will be doubling as my clutch this weekend, an oversized denim tote found at a yard sale, a new notebook to fill with my adventures, photos of people I don’t know to add to my collection, and finally, a piece of polka dot paper. Because she knew I would be photographing my present. And she wanted to have a part in the styling, of course.

Allison always knows just what I need. My package arrived just before I leave for TX tomorrow, when I was in the midst of some sort of meltdown, mostly caused by the NYC heat wave this week. What did I do to deserve such great friends? This is my third care package, my twelfth piece of mail, and I’m drowning in knick-knacks I’ve been collecting but can’t afford to send to people.

DSC_0005 DSC_0007 DSC_0008 DSC_0012In my second package, I had little gifts picked out from my mom and sister. Bath salts and toys, a rain coat that is actually waterproof (it’s been a monsoon up here), my dear boyfriend jeans that I’ve been missing so much, a set of sandwich coasters because who doesn’t need sandwich-shaped coasters?,  an owl-shaped pin cushion, and a book lamp. Tucked away in the bottom of the box was a little note. Which made me realize just how much I miss my family, despite the busy days and never-ending evenings.

DSC_0015I haven’t mentioned how work has been as of late! It’s been busyContinuing the endless process of archiving materials at Isaac Mizrahi, managing social media at Gabriela Moya, researching prominent fashion companies’ use of social media and making comparisons, helping to update some sales info at Wendy Brandes on weekends, and coming up with new ways to grow the business with Stacy Lomman after-hours. Whew.

Oh yeah, I’m also job hunting. Like a grown-up. So if you know of anyone who might want to pay me to be awesome, you just let me know.

 

 

