Ninesday // things NYC has taught me.

by aproperfool

9. Let’s get things started off with this song, which Kelsey and I listened to on my very first visit to NYC, circa 2009.

8. Even when it says it isn’t going to rain, it is going to rain. And when you actually bring a second pair of shoes, an umbrella, your rain jacket, and your waterproof laptop case, it will not rain. And no, hailing a cab will not keep you any drier. Best bet: hide out under an overhang, be a few minutes late for work, and save your $10.

7. Two hours of commuting is normal (30 minutes- 1 hour to go most anywhere–from my house, at least). Reading is mandatory for saving sanity. I have this little problem…I basically only like to buy used books. I will go weeks, months, and occasionally years without buying a book until I find a used copy. It’s weird and not very productive, I know. I gave in and finally picked up the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao for my plane ride to Texas.

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

6. If you don’t have your weekend nights planned out, you should probably pack an extra shirt, makeup, and a pair of comfy shoes. Because it seems like it’s only those nights that you’ll wind up sleeping on a friend’s couch, taking an impromptu jog, get rained on a when  the forecast didn’t predict the monsoon, or get an invite to a dinner that is fancier than whatever you’ve been sweating in all day.

5. Rooftops are my new favorite thing. Talk about an under-utilized part of the buildings back home. My favorite moments have been unplanned hours spent on someone’s roof.

Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.02.31 AM Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.02.14 AM Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.02.00 AM

4. You can either pay $7.50+ for a dinner at McDonald’s or $10 for a really good bowl of Pho at my favorite Vietnamese restaurant.

3. It is completely worthwhile to walk an extra six blocks to that coffee shop you actually like. These are the one’s I have been frequenting: Everyman Espresso, O Cafe, Zibetto, Culture Espresso Bar, Stumptown, Kahve, Konditori, and probs a hundred more that I can’t think of right now.

Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.06.11 AM Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.05.45 AM Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.05.25 AM Screen shot 2013-07-06 at 9.04.49 AM

2. DOING LAUNDRY IS A CHORE. I mean, that’s obvious. But it is nearly impossible to take my laundry downstairs to an open washer and/or dryer. It’s a lot of waiting, a lot of money, and a lot of trouble. Especially if you only have one of some crucial items, like towels. This is nearly my least favorite thing to do, as a close second to grocery shopping. Why can’t I make a functional list??!

1. I’ve learned that you can’t really experience the city if you say “no” too often. You’ll miss out on spontaneous, long nights. You’ll miss out on meeting new people who you have a lot in common with. You’ll miss the dancing, you’ll miss the thrift store finds, you’ll miss the free concerts, you’ll miss the fun.

So here’s to saying “yes” as often as possible. Even when it is dreadfully inconvenient.

