// first out-of-state visitor — Allison!

by aproperfool

DSC_0259 DSC_0262 DSC_0263DSC_0264 DSC_0270 DSC_0273 DSC_0275 DSC_0277 DSC_0279 DSC_0280 DSC_0282 DSC_0283 DSC_0312DSC_0318 DSC_0320 DSC_0321 DSC_0329 DSC_0335Allison’s trip was fantastic! She had a Nashville friend recommend Pies -n- Thighs & O.M.G. fried chicken & waffles. I mean…I may be from the South, but I had never tried the iconic pairing. Imagine here: a cinnamon-y, buttery, fruity waffle. Sweet, but not too sweet. And with that, a salty, crunch, perfectly spiced piece of chicken. To say it was delicious is not giving it justice. Maybe I was starving, maybe it was actually mind numbingly good. Either way, I will definitely be going back.

Other visits that day included Blue Bottle Coffee (another recommendation from the Pies -n- Thighs gurus), the Brooklyn Flea Market, Dylan’s Candy Bar, a quick stop at the Met, and a second cup of joe at Sweetleaf. Of course there were thrifted finds, missed subway trains, bus mishaps, clothing malfunctions, hot dog debacles, and everything else that just happens in NYC that you forget to immortalize in writing.

Our first full day of the trip was such a success. Allison and I haven’t had a long visit in far too long and it was great to catch-up while touring the city.

It should also be mentioned that I found the rather strange jumper I am wearing for $10 at a street fair. I’m not crazy about the material, but it was so comfy!

