// working from home.

by aproperfool

I don’t know if I formally announced this here, but I am officially a real part of the workforce! Yes, post-college, one of my internships turned into a job. I am currently the first full-time employee at Wendy Brandes Fine Jewelry. Now, I know what you’re thinking–what on earth is Eryn doing with her time? Is it fun to work for a small company? Wait, where does Eryn even work? IS THERE COFFEE INVOLVED? And if so, how many cappuccinos does Eryn drink in a week?

And I’ll not pretend that any of you are actually that curious about my day-to-day life. But you might actually be curious about how to stay motivated when working from home, on your own schedule, and starting from the ground up. So I’ll share the very minimal insight I have on those things. By that, I obviously mean that I intend to begin filling you in on the trials of now owning my own schedule.

But first, let me answer those pivotal questions.

1. I am OBVS doing a lot of research. My official title is “Public Relations & Marketing Coordinator.” And when working for a small business, that means that I do everything from searching for buyers on Linkedin, to making what some would consider a “sales pitch,” to convincing my boss that I’m extremely trustworthy.

2. Working for a small company can be a lot of fun! I get along great with my boss, and really, that is the only thing that matters. Yes, the ONLY thing. I work with the owner/designer/CEO of the company, so when she is working on a new design or coming up with a new way to market materials, I get to learn about it. And! I even get to make suggestions. We have a good team effort going.

3. I work from home on most days. As I am settling into my position, I will begin to schedule more meetings out of the house and attend PR events and whatnot. But for now, my efforts are in researching. Remembering a person’s name or title in an organization goes a long way in a phone call with someone who really had no desire to speak to you in the first place.

4. Yes, I know this was the most important question. There is a lot of coffee involved. During our weekly meetings, if I am going to be even one minute late, I spring for coffee and doughnuts. Because everyone needs that extra boost in the morning. And the bus is only sort of a reliable method of getting to work. I make an effort to drink coffee at home, but will go out for a cappuccino and a morning set-up session at least three days per week. This is mostly to keep me from being so spoiled that I work in my pajamas.

I just finished setting up my home office! It’s really basic right now, with only a desk. And I decided that paying $15 for the trash can that was really cute was silly. So paper bag it is.

DSC_0004 DSC_0010 DSC_0015 DSC_0018 DSC_0025 DSC_0029

// Gap zippered denim leggings / Sam Edelman suede “Petty” booties / thrifted camouflage jacket / Warby Parker glasses / Madewell bracelet / bag found at TJ Maxx / Gap striped shirt //

So I am definitely still adjusting to being my own boss (when it comes to the way I spend my days, anyway). In fact, because I was home for my sister’s wedding for the past five days, I decided not to get dressed until roughly 2 pm. Of course, work began at 9. But I wasn’t required to be up and about. And I therefore wasn’t. But! From research I’ve been doing on how to make the most of your work from home and really learn to be your own boss, in a sense, here is what I have found:

1. Set-up an area that you will work from every day. Preferably not where you eat your meals, if possible. Having boundaries is a good thing!

2. Surround yourself with inspirational/pretty items.

3. Wake up early and get ready for the day! It gives you more motivation to be social, even over the phone.

4. DO NOT SNACK ON ALL OF THE GROCERIES YOU BOUGHT. That would end badly for a number of reasons; your budget will decrease, while your waist increases. No bueno.

5. Follow-up on everything. Whether it was a random meeting, realizing you have a mutual friend who also likes luxury jewelry, or you made a phone call to a buyer who doesn’t seem to care. At all. Remembering to call or email and say thank you makes all of the difference when you are speaking to them the next time around!

I had grand plans of making that into an infographic. A really cute one. But the boy got free tickets to this show. So that clearly took precedence. Next time!

Also, if you haven’t checked out the company I work for yet, you probably should. Wendy blogs a lot and is generally hilarious, I am in charge of the PR Instagram, and we are amping up our Pinterest presence. Oh yeah, and there’s Facebook. Of course.

