// wishing & hoping.

by aproperfool

wishlist 1 – Humans of New York for my coffee table! I have been following the blog, getting lost in the mini stories about New Yorkers for quite some time. Available here and here for a tad cheaper.

Screen shot 2013-12-23 at 3.23.56 PM

2 – I am so so so excited to let you all know that I will be an official reviewer for the ROK Espresso Machine! The machine is made from engine-grade metal, doesn’t need to be plugged into anything, and uses pressure to create the perfect espresso. I’ve been shopping around NYC for the perfect beans to try out in the machine, but I think I’ll have to go with ordering my all-time fave online: Mama Mocha’s Brass Knuckle Espresso. Sarah, an order will be coming your way! Expect something really wordy, lots of photos, and a video tutorial at the start of the upcoming year.

3 – I am constantly battling wet and/or cold feet. If it isn’t pouring rain in the summer while I’m running late for work and toting 12 lbs of things I don’t really need, it is snowing and my tried-and-true wool + cotton sock combo just isn’t cutting it. Therefore, I started searching for a good rainy-day, all year option. You know, something that would allow thick sock-wearing and completely waterproof soles. Dear Sorel, you are officially my solemate. I’m pretty torn between the Medina pair (pictured above) and the Joan of Arctic Wedge.

Screen shot 2013-12-23 at 3.25.58 PM

4 – Generally, I opt for more classic colors/silhouettes when buying bags. But after using my mustard yellow thrifty TJ Maxx find over the last couple of months, all I want is a bring bag to make my outfits pop. Botkier, a relative newcomer to the accessories world, has caught my eye. The leather, the occasional use of tassels… but mostly, the colors! The tri-color HONORE crossbody bag, the VALENTINA shoulder bag, and my all-time favorite, the LEGACY small satchel (pictured above). Can we just talk about how the listed color is “persimmon”?! Love.

botki4014712205_q2_1-1

5 – I read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao this past summer and was a huge fan of Junot Diaz’s intricate storytelling and inter-weaving narratives. When I was browsing Barnes and Noble recenty, I came across This Is How You Lose Her, which I will definitely be picking up for my long trip home (flying to AL, but driving to NYC just in time for NYE!).

6 – For the past week, I have had the WENDYB NINJA Letter Necklace in my possession. So that I could photograph it for Instagram/wear it around town. Fifteen real-life compliments and approximately two Instagram photos later, I returned the NINJA Necklace to Wendy. And now I feel lost without it. It is dainty in size, but the letters stand-out from across the room (or so I was told by the anonymous complimenters). If I don’t go the NINJA route, I’ll probably opt for the IDGAF. Self-explanatory.

ca83b4a068c811e38d44129f86b6a4ce_8

Other things that made my perfect for anyone gift list:

– Heavy duty socks from J. Crew.

– A completely waterproof rain cape from Terra NY.

– I’ve been eyeing this Loyalty & Blood sweatshirt for an entire year ago and am pretty sure all of my closest friends have been doing the same thing.

– This dachshund Chanel t-shirt is too funny.

– A great felt hat, found at SWELL.

– I am a huge proponent of gifts that give; this year, I’m spotlighting charity: water.

– If you haven’t checked out Ten Thousand Villages yet, scoot on over and get these Log Cabin Gloves.

